• تجربة الموسيقى العالمية

    أفريقي ، آسيوي ، شرق أوسطي ، أمريكي أصلي ، لاتيني وكوبي أفريقي ، أمريكي جنوبي

    كتاب اندي واسرمان

    يتخصص آندي في الموسيقى الغربية وغير الغربية. لقد قام بتأدية وتسجيل وتأليف وتعليم الموسيقى من جميع أنحاء العالم منذ عام 1972 بمجموعته التي تضم أكثر من 140 آلة تقليدية للرياح والخيوط والإيقاع من غرب إفريقيا واليابان والصين والشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية والشتات الأفرو-كوبي. ، أمريكا الجنوبية ومناطق الأمريكيين الأصليين وكذلك الجاز الأمريكي.

    قام آندي بإنتاج منتجات تشاركية متعددة الثقافات تم تقديمها في أماكن الأداء والصف الرئيسي والفنان المقيم وورشة العمل في أكثر من 2,000 مهرجانات ومدارس وكليات وجامعات ومتاحف ومختلف المؤسسات العامة والخاصة منذ عام 1979. يقوم Andy بجولات منتظمة مع عروضه الفردية الأصلية "صنع الموسيقى من جميع أنحاء العالم" و "الآلات الموسيقية: من القديم إلى المستقبل" و "الموسيقى: صوت الوحدة".

    صنع الموسيقى من جميع أنحاء العالم

> <
  • 1

انقر فوق علم بلدك لترجمة موقع الويب

enafsqarhyazeubebgcaزكية-CNzh-TWhrcsdanlettlfifrglkadeelhtiwhihuisidgaitjakolvltmkmsmtnofaplptrorusrskslesswsvthtrukurvicyyi

تجربة الموسيقى العالمية

الفيديو الصوتي لعرض الشرائح: جميع الآلات التي يؤديها أندي واسرمان

بيان المهمة - الجزء الأول: فن وعلم الاستماع

تنشر برامج آندي الحكمة من خلال تنمية مهارات الاستماع التي تؤكد الاحترام والتواضع. يحول الطلاب الذين يتعلمون الرقة والتعاطف هذه المبادئ إلى كلمات وأفعال طيبة. هذا له تأثير كبير على تغيير ثقافة ومناخ حياتهم في المدرسة وفي المنزل وفي مجتمعهم.

الاستماع هو حجر الزاوية في جميع التفاعلات البشرية. يشجع الاستماع اليقظ التغيير في مواقف الناس تجاه أنفسهم والآخرين ، وتطوير النضج العاطفي والتوازن. الشخصية الصينية TING (انظر الصورة أدناه) يترجم الفعل النشط "للاستماع". إنها تجسد العملية التي نتعلم من خلالها دمج 5 عناصر عند الاستماع باهتمام. الصينية TINGlisteningWEB

ملاحظات الطلاب: "عزيزي السيد واسرمان - قبل مجيئك إلى مدرستنا كنت مقتصرًا على العزف على الكلارينيت والغناء. لقد علمتني أكثر من ذلك بكثير. الآن أستمع دائمًا إلى جميع أنواع الموسيقى و الصمت."


بيان المهمة - الجزء الثاني: دائرة انتقال التراث الثقافي

للفنون الثقافية القدرة على العمل كقوة دائمة للتغيير الإيجابي. هدف Wasserman الأساسي هو رعاية وعي أوسع وتقدير أعمق للتراث الثقافي للبشرية. وقد حقق ذلك من خلال مزج الموسيقى الغربية وغير الغربية التي يمكن الوصول إليها ، باستخدام مجموعة وفيرة من الآلات الصوتية والإلكترونية.

هدفه هو حماية بيئة العدالة الاجتماعية ، والحفاظ على الكنز الثمين لثقافات الموسيقى العالمية ، وتمريرها إلى الأمام. إن التجارب الهادفة التي نشاركها من خلال الموسيقى تفتح الباب لاكتساب فهم أكبر للتناغم والوحدة في عالمنا.

يُعرَّف التراث الثقافي بأنه شبكة النعم الاجتماعي في مسارات المعيشة ، التي طورها مجتمع من جيل إلى جيل. يتم إنشاء الروابط بين العادات والممارسات ، والمواقع الجغرافية ، والتعبيرات الفنية ، والسياق التاريخي ، والأشياء ذات المغزى وأنظمة القيم.

يتردد نهج Wasserman المنهجي طوال برامجه التفاعلية ك دائرة نقل التراث الثقافي:

عجلات ذات عجلات صغيرة تصحيح

  • جمهوره وطلابه استمتع مشاركة،
  • هذا التمتع يثير العطش فهم.
  • من خلال الفهم ، وتقدير كيفية القيام بذلك VALUE الثراء الثقافي عزيز.
  • القيمة العزيزة تغرس الإحساس رعاية.
  • من خلال العناية وقدرتهم على استمتع يتم تكبيرها ... وتبدأ الدورة مرة أخرى وتستمر في الدوران!

ملاحظات الطلاب: "السيد واسرمان: شكرًا جزيلاً على حضوركم لمدرستنا وتعليمنا الكثير من الأدوات الجديدة الممتعة. أحب برنامجك كثيرا !!! لقد غيرت حقا وجهة نظري للأشياء. تختلف الطريقة التي أرى بها العالم الآن تمامًا عن الطريقة التي اعتدت رؤيته بها. بدلا من الحرب والحزن ، أرى المزيد من الوحدة والسعادة - لأنك علمتني أن الموسيقى هي صوت الوحدة ".


العمل

ازدهر هذا الاجتهاد - نداء حياته - في مهنة مستدامة من العروض والتسجيلات والتراكيب والابتكار في مجال الفنون في التعليم منذ عام 1979 مع مجموعة آندي التي تضم أكثر من 140 آلة ريح ووتر وإيقاع أصيلة. تمثل هذه الأدوات التقاليد الثقافية من غرب أفريقيا واليابان والصين والشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية والشتات الأفريقي الكوبي وأمريكا الجنوبية ومناطق الأمريكيين الأصليين ، بما في ذلك الجاز ، الكنز الوطني لأمريكا.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، استكشف Andy وابتكر تقنيات البرمجة الخاصة به في الموسيقى التناظرية والرقمية خلال الثلاثين عامًا الماضية من ابتكارات الكمبيوتر والإلكترونيات ، بدءًا من أبل ماكنتوش الأول في عام 1987. قم بالتمرير لأسفل في هذه الصفحة للوصول إلى معلومات تفصيلية عن خبرته في معدات وتكنولوجيا موسيقى ELECTRONICA.

نسخة إضافية من النسخة الأصليةألهمت دراسة أندي وتجربتها في مجال علم الموسيقى العالمي مهمته في إنشاء هذه المنتجات التشاركية المتعددة الثقافات ، وقد تم تقديمها في الأداء والدروس الرئيسية وأماكن الفنانين المقيمين وورش العمل في آلاف المدارس والمهرجانات والكليات والمتاحف والمكتبات والمواقع العامة والخاصة الأخرى منذ عام 1979.

اعتبارًا من عام 2017 ، يواصل جولته بانتظام ويلتقي بالأوساط وردود الفعل الإيجابية من الجمهور ، وينشر رسالته حول الوحدة العالمية والعدالة الاجتماعية والشفاء من خلال الموسيقى من خلال عروضه الفردية الأصلية "صنع الموسيقى من جميع أنحاء العالم" ، "الآلات الموسيقية: قديمة إلى المستقبل "و" الموسيقى: صوت الوحدة ". يمكن الاطلاع على مزيد من التفاصيل حول عمل واسرمان في مجال الفنون في التعليم على هذا LINK.

ملاحظات الطلاب: "السيد واسرمان - وقتي معك هو درس سأتذكره دائمًا. لقد أتيت إلى مدرستنا لتعلمنا عن الموسيقى ، لكنك علمتنا أكثر من ذلك بكثير ... شكرًا!"


تحميل مقاطع الفيديو
تحميل مقاطع الفيديو ...

انقر على هذا الرابط للعرض مقالة فيديو مدتها أربع دقائق توثق برنامج إقامة الفنانين 2016 لأندي واسرمان موسيقى صوت الوحدة

المقدمة في مدرسة نيوجيرسي الابتدائية ، المقدمة من خلال MORRIS ARTS


THE تجربة الموسيقى العالمية باكستوري

غرب افريقيا

WstAfricaAWsmallبابا لادجي كامارا وابنهكان لدى أندي حظًا جيدًا في الحصول على بابا لادجي كامارا كمرشد من عام 1998 إلى 2004. (الصورة على اليمين هو أندي ولادجي أثناء الدرس.) بابا لادجي هو مبتكر عالمي مشهور من نوراسوبا ، غينيا ، غرب أفريقيا وكان أول عازف الدرامز الأصلي "Les Ballet Africain de Keita Fodeba". يُنسب إليه باعتباره أول لاعب jembe يقدم هذه الآلة خارج القارة الإفريقية لمشاركتها مع بقية العالم. يمكنك سماع بعض موسيقاه على تسمية Lyricord هنا، واقرأ المزيد عنه في هذا LINK، طالما هناوفي موسوعة الموسيقى الأفريقية

كان العمل مع Papa Ladji تتويجًا لدراسات واسرمان العرقية والموسيقى التي بدأت في أوائل الستينيات عندما كان آندي صبيًا صغيرًا بدأ مجموعته من الآلات الموسيقية من إفريقيا. بالإضافة إلى عمله مع بابا Ladji ، درس أندي في مدرسة باباتوندي أولاتونجي للرقص والموسيقى الأفريقية في شارع 125 في هارلم ، مدينة نيويورك خلال أوائل السبعينيات ، ومع ديفيد لوك في كلية دراسات الموسيقى العرقية في نيو إنجلاند كونسرفتوار. يعزف على جيمبي ، سانغبا ، دون دون ، بالافون ، مبيرا ، طبل يتحدث والعديد من الآلات الأخرى من غينيا والسنغال ومالي ونيجيريا وغانا.

اليابان والصين

اورينتالبدأ آندي واسرمان تعلم الكوتو الياباني عام 1976 وعازف البامبو hotchiku عام 1972 إلى جانب الدراسات المستمرة للثقافة الآسيوية والموسيقى التقليدية. لديه مجموعة كبيرة من الصنوج والطبول الآسيوية أيضًا.

لدى آندي اهتمام خاص بالأشكال القديمة للموسيقى كدواء من الصين القديمة. لقد أمضى عقودًا كطالب في Tai Chi Chuan جنبًا إلى جنب مع مبادئ الطب التقليدي الصيني ويواصل البحث مدى الحياة حول فلسفة الطاوية والتأمل Zen كما يدرسها آلان واتس.

الشرق الأوسط

MidEastAWsmallبدأ آندي دراسة طبول دومبيك منذ أكثر من 20 عامًا وهو يجيد العزف بمقاييس غريبة. يجلب إلى جمهوره رسالة الوحدة والتسامح كما تمثلها الموسيقى من العديد من البلدان المختلفة في الشرق الأوسط بما في ذلك تركيا والعراق وإيران وإسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية ولبنان والأردن ، إلخ.

تم دمج موسيقى Wasserman في الشرق الأوسط في برامجه "صنع الموسيقى من جميع أنحاء العالم" و "Instruments: Ancient to Future" وسلسلة إقامة الفنانين التي تستغرق 6 أسابيع بعنوان "الموسيقى: صوت الوحدة".

الأم الأمريكية

NativeAmerAWsmallدرس آندي واسرمان مجتمعات وموسيقى الأمريكيين الأوائل منذ عام 1971 عندما درس الثقافة الأصلية مع جاك بريستون من جامعة سينيكا نيشن في جامعة ولاية نيويورك في نيو بالتز. في عام 1976 ساعد زعيم Oglala Lakota سيلو بلاك كرو إعداد أماكن لرقصة الشمس على أرض سيلو من خلال حجز Pine Ridge في Wanblee ، داكوتا الجنوبية. كان هناك أن شيوخ سيلو بلاك كرو وشيوخ لاكوتا بدأوا آندي في مراسم تنقية لودج العرق التقليدية.

لقد سافر آندي في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة من أجل الالتقاء بالعديد من دول أمريكا الأصلية والتعلم منها ومساعدتها. بعد 30 عامًا من البحث الذي شمل ثقافات لاكوتا وداكوتا وإيروكويوس ، أصدر "حبة الأغاني" على القرص المضغوط في عام 2007. يكرم مشروع القرص المضغوط بالكامل صديق آندي ياهزي ، وهو فنان متخصص في زخرفة الخرز وعضو مسجل في قبيلة شوشون بانوك في فورت هول. ايداهو. ابتكرت الأخفاف المزيّنة بالخرز وغيرها من الشعارات المصورة على القرص المضغوط.

يعزف على المزامير الأمريكية الأصلية الأصيلة المصنوعة من قبل صانعي الناي التقليديين من أبناء الشعوب الأولى تشارلز ليتليليف وروسيل وولف ، من بين آخرين ، ويلعب الطبول التي أدلى بها غراي وولف درامز وشيريل وكيث ليتل بادجر من درامز الأرض.

قرع من أصل أفريقي و لاتيني

Cajon4awSiteWEBبدأ آندي واسرمان دراسة الموسيقى الكوبية والأفريقية مع الطبال الشهير داني باراهاناس في عام 1973 ، بدءًا من البونغو. تشمل مجموعته من الأدوات أيضًا الكنغاس ، والجداول الزمنية ، والكاجون ، والأجراس ، والشيكيري ، والغيروس ، وقرع اليد المتنوعة.

لقد تعلم الكثير عن أصالة هذا التراث الثقافي الغني من عازف الإيقاع والمعلم الأفرو-كوبي من نيويورك بوبي سانابريا بينما كان آندي يبحث وينتج محتوى له عام 1995 فوز الكوكب الأزرق قرص مضغوط ، بما في ذلك أهمية clave ، وكيفية تطبيقه على أنه "الغراء الذي يجمع الإيقاع معًا" باستخدام مجموعة الطبول الأمريكية.

أمريكي جنوبي

SouthAmerCollageCropsmallLatinCollageCropsmallقضى آندي سنوات عديدة في تعلم ومشاركة الفلكلور الموسيقي في البرازيل وبيرو والأرجنتين. لديه مجموعة من الأكرينا. مزامير خيزران ومجموعة كبيرة من آلات النقر اليدوية الأصلية المصنوعة من مواد طبيعية من الطبيعة الأم.

على البيانو ، يوضح أندي الروابط بين أسلوب الإيقاع البرازيلي بوسا نوفا والجاز.

إلكترونيكا (تكنولوجيا الموسيقى)

ElectronicMerge3web

يبرز إنتاج آندي واسرمان الأصلي المبتكر للفنون بعنوان "الآلات الموسيقية: من القديم إلى المستقبل" الروابط بين تقنيات الأداء الصوتي التعبيري والمقاطع الصوتية الموسيقية الإلكترونية باستخدام أحدث تقنيات الموسيقى الرقمية.

اعتبارًا من عام 2016 ، يتمتع Wasserman بخبرة 29 عامًا كمصمم صوت ومبرمج المزج وفني أخذ العينات الرقمي وفناني إلكترونيات الأداء الحي. بدأ هذا القسم من حياته في عام 1987 عندما شارك آندي في تأسيس "Sonic Architecture" ، وهي خدمة إنتاج مكتبة صوتية لأخذ العينات باستخدام Akai S900 - أول جهاز أخذ عينات رقمي شائع يستخدم على خشبة المسرح وفي الاستوديوهات حول العالم.

واستمر في تطوير هذه الأفكار الموسيقية طوال التسعينيات من تأليف الموسيقى الأصلية ، والأداء ، والجولة ، وتعليم الفصول الدراسية الرئيسية في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة باعتباره مؤيدًا لـ Emu Systems Digital Samplers مع الثنائي الإلكتروني "Junglewire". كان Andy أيضًا رائدًا مبكرًا في البرامج التفاعلية للأقراص المضغوطة ، وشارك في إنشاء برنامج الكمبيوتر المبتكر "Beat of the Blue Planet" بواسطة Virtual Entertainment ، المطور لـ Opcode Interactive. لقد عمل على إنشاء محتوى صوتي وفيديو ونصوص ورسومات للإنترنت بشكل منتظم منذ عام 1990 من خلال شركة إنتاج الاستوديو الخاصة به ترانس ميديا ​​الصوت والموسيقى.

تحية إلى مصدر الإلهام

StevieFlowePower3webمثل الكثير من الناس من جيله ، استلهم آندي بعمق من ستيفي وندر ليصبح عازفًا متعدد الأدوات في كل من الوسائط الصوتية والإلكترونية.

يعد Stevie مثالاً لموسيقي يمكنه القيام بكل شيء - ليس فقط العزف على جميع الآلات وبرمجة أصواتك الخاصة ، ولكن أيضًا إنشاء الاستوديو الخاص بك ، وإنتاج الموسيقى الخاصة بك والتحكم الكامل في كل جانب من جوانب العملية الإبداعية. ساهم عمل Wonder الرائد بطريقة أو بأخرى في كل ابتكار تقريبًا في تكنولوجيا الموسيقى التي نتمتع بها اليوم.

بدأ واسرمان في تصور ما سيصبح الخطة الرئيسية لتوجهه الموسيقي الموسع بعد استيعاب ألبوم ستيفي عام 1972 "كتاب الحديث". كما أنه مدين بدين كبير من الامتنان جنبًا إلى جنب مع كل البشرية للعجب لالتزامه بالموسيقى كقوة للعقلية الإيجابية والعدالة الاجتماعية.

نيابة عن جميع الموسيقيين وغير الموسيقيين على حد سواء: "شكرًا لك ، STEVIE !!!"

حفلات الكواكب الحية الإلكترونية

من عام 2011 حتى عام 2012 ، أجرى آندي 45 عرضًا منفردًا لإنتاجه الإلكتروني الإلكتروني الأصلي الأصلي بعنوان "الرنين الكوني: حفل موسيقي داخل عوالم تحت النجوم"قام في الوقت نفسه بتشغيل عشرات الأدوات الإلكترونية في الوقت الفعلي جنبًا إلى جنب مع الآلات الصوتية من جميع أنحاء العالم لإنشاء مسار صوتي مباشر وتفاعلي لعروض علم الفلك المصاحبة للعروض التقديمية Sky DigiStar HiDef في Longo Planetarium في نيو جيرسي. (انقر فوق هنا لعرض ملصق الحفل.)

استوديو اندي واسرمان Portrait2013WEB

فئات تكنولوجيا الموسيقى يستخدم أندي في الحفلات الموسيقية وورش العمل والإقامات التفاعلية على خشبة المسرح ، في إنتاج الاستوديو والتعليم

(لمزيد من المعلومات التفصيلية ، من فضلك الاتصال أندي واسرمان للحصول على قائمة شاملة بجميع المعدات والأدوات الإلكترونية)

لوحات المفاتيح ، البيانو الرقمي والمولدات

الأدوية الإلكترونية

وحدات تحكم MIDI و USB بديلة

وحدات الصوت

أجهزة كمبيوتر وإلكترونيات أداء

القيثارات الكهربائية

محولات الصوت

تسجيل وتصوير وصورة رقمية لأداء الاستوديوهات والمراحل


خط 6 مقابلة اندي واسرمان لقطة شاشة MLWebتحقق من مقابلة عام 2013 مع آندي واسرمان:

"الخط 6 مرحلة الحلم تبسيط الإعداد وزيادة جودة الصوت للموسيقي والمعلم آندي واسرمان "

انقر على لقطة الشاشة [image on right] لقراءة المقال المرتبط بالموقع الرسمي للخط 6


أطقم طبل صوتية

BeadKitSideViewWEB

عرض أندي واسرمان "أغانٍ"طبل مخصص (الصورة على اليسار)

~ عدة أساسية: طقم طبول قشرة القيقب من 5 قطع ، مصنوع يدويًا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من قبل Phattie Drums

~ الانتهاء من طبل الخارجي: إنتاج اللفات بواسطة شركة بوم راب درام

~ حصيرة طبل: مصمم خصيصا باد زيلا™ لتتناسب مع مجموعة الطبول DrumMats.com

~ الميكروفون طبل باس: TPSONE1 العرف ملفوفة 40 أوقية الميكروفون subkick العائمة

تعد مجموعة الطبول هذه تحية محترمة تهدف إلى تكريم عمل حبة Shoshone-Bannock التقليدية للعضو القبلي Yahhazie. ابتكرت تصميم الأمريكيين الأصليين على حذاء الموكاسين الذي صنعته لأندي في عام 2006 (انقر هذا LINK للعرض) التي تم اقتصاص مقطع مربع XNUMX بوصة لإنتاج نمط العمل الفني للبلاط على الطبول والحصيرة.

مجموعات طبل إضافية

موسيقى الجاز

أندي واسرمان ElecPianoDayWEBCloseUpInSwingErrollGarnerAlbumCoverWEBيقدم واسرمان موسيقى الجاز كمكون رئيسي في برامج الفنون في التعليم من خلال مساهمته في العالم كواحد من الأمريكيين القلائل حقًا أصلي ، أنامواطن أشكال فنية ، إلى جانب موسيقى الأمريكيين الأصليين.

بدأ آندي في الارتجال عندما كان عمره 6 سنوات. وقد حصل على ألبوم "إغلاق في أرجوحة" إيرول غارنر في يوم ميلاده التاسع وعرف عند الاستماع لأول مرة أن هذا هو ما تم وضعه على الأرض.

ساعدته عقود من الدراسة تحت إشراف عازف البيانو الرئيسي في موسيقى الجاز دويك ميتشل ومبتكر موسيقى الجاز جورج راسل على تحقيق هدفه. تم الاعتراف بأسرمان طوال حياته المهنية المتفانية كواحد من عازفي البيانو المنفردين الموسيقيين والملهمين من جيله.

يمكن العثور على مزيد من المعلومات حول فن آندي جاز هنا.

1 مايو 2017 - أخبار محدثة: مقابلة حديثة متعمقة مع أندي واسرمان حول عمل حياته في الموسيقى تظهر في مجلة JAZZ MONTHLY. شاهد المقابلة والرابط في الصفحة الرئيسية لمجلة Jazz الشهرية على عنوان URL هذا: JAZZMONTHLY.COM أو انتقل مباشرة إلى المقالة الكاملة في هذه الصفحة: JAZZMONTHLY.COM/ANDY-WASSERMAN
يمكنك سماع جميع الأنماط والأنواع المدرجة هنا في صفحة تجربة الموسيقى العالمية بالنقر على هذا الرابط: صفحة الاستماع
مقسم 3 ب
صور قليلة من دفتر قصاصات: من الماضي إلى الحاضر
أندي واسرمان
أندي واسرمان شاب مع مرشدة آن بريج دودج ويبأندي عندما كان شابًا مع المرشد آن بريج دودج ، مدرسة متروبوليتان للموسيقى ، مانهاتن ، مدينة نيويورك
AWplaysBALA600web
AWSTudentsBALAmallets600web
GroupAWBala600web
التشويش مع الجمهور الشاب في مدرسة في أبريل 2017:
أندي يعطي ورشة عمل في Balafon من مالي ، غرب أفريقيا في برنامجه "نبض الكوكب الأزرق".
الفنان الموسيقي أندي واسرمان يوم الموسيقى العالمي على شبكة الإنترنت
الفنان الموسيقي أندي واسرمان يقدم عرضًا احتفاليًا بيوم الموسيقى العالمي 2018 في حفل موسيقي خارجي مع برنامجه "الموسيقى: صوت الوحدة"

• The World Music Experience

    African, Asian, Middle Eastern, Native American, Latin & Afro-Cuban, South American

    Book Andy Wasserman

    Andy specializes in both Western and non-Western music. He has been performing, recording, composing and teaching music from around the world since 1972 with his collection of over 140 traditional wind, string, and percussion instruments from West Africa, Japan and China, The Middle East, Latin America and Afro-Cuban diaspora, South American and Native American regions as well as American Jazz.

    Andy has created participatory multi-cultural productions that have been presented in performance, master class, artist-in-residence and workshop venues at over 2,000 festivals, schools, colleges & universities, museums & various public & private institutions since 1979. Andy tours regularly with his original solo presentations “Making Music From Around the World”, “Instruments: Ancient to Future” & “Music: The Voice of Unity."

    Making Music From Around The World

  • 1

Click Your Country's Flag To Translate Website

enafsqarhyazeubebgcazh-CNzh-TWhrcsdanlettlfifrglkadeelhtiwhihuisidgaitjakolvltmkmsmtnofaplptrorusrskslesswsvthtrukurvicyyi

World Music Experience

 

Andy Wasserman Online Programs Video Conferencing Callout Banner

MISSION STATEMENT - PART ONE: The art and science of listening

Andy's programs infuse wisdom through the cultivation of listening skills which validate respect and humility. Students who learn graciousness and empathy turn those principles into words and acts of kindness. This has a huge impact on changing the culture and climate of their lives in school, at home and in their community.

Listening is a cornerstone of all human interaction. Attentive listening fosters change in peoples’ attitudes toward themselves and others, developing emotional maturity and balance. The Chinese character TING (see image below) translates as the active verb "to listen." It embodies the process by which we learn to integrate 5 elements when listening intently. ChineseTINGlisteningWEB

STUDENT FEEDBACK: "Dear Mr. Wasserman - Before you came to our school I was limited to playing clarinet and singing. You taught me so much more. Now I am always listening to all kinds of music and the silence."


MISSION STATEMENT - PART TWO: The circle of cultural heritage transmission

Cultural arts have the power to act as an enduring force for positive change. Wasserman's primary objective is to nurture a broader awareness and deeper appreciation of humanity's cultural legacies.  He achieves this by mixing accessible Western and non-Western music, employing an abundant array of acoustic and electronic instruments.

His aim is to protect the milieu of social justice, preserve the priceless treasure of world music cultures, and pass it forward. The meaningful experiences we share through music opens a door to gaining a greater understanding of harmony and unity in our world.

Cultural heritage is defined as the network of social graces within pathways of living, developed by a community from generation to generation. Connections are established between customs and practices, geographical locations, artistic expressions, historical context, meaningful objects and value systems.

Wasserman's methodical approach reverberates throughout his interactive programs as a circle of cultural heritage transmission:

WheelLAYERSsmallCORRECTEDweb

  • His audiences and students ENJOY participating,
  • This enjoyment sparks a thirst for UNDERSTANDING.
  • Through understanding, the appreciation of how to VALUE cultural enrichment is cherished.
  • The cherished value instills a sense of CARING.
  • By caring, their ability to ENJOY is magnified...and the cycle begins again and keeps circulating !

 

 

STUDENT FEEDBACK: "Mr. Wasserman: Thank you very much for coming to our school and teaching us so many fun, new instruments. I loved your program so much!!! It really changed my view of things. The way I see the world now is entirely different from how I used to see it. Instead of war and sadness, I see more unity and happiness - because you taught me that music is the voice of unity."


THE WORK

This diligence - his life's calling - has blossomed into a sustained career of performances, recordings, compositions and arts-in-education innovation since 1979 with Andy's collection of over 140 authentic wind, string, and percussion instruments. These instruments represent cultural traditions from West Africa, Japan and China, The Middle East, Latin America and Afro-Cuban diaspora, South American and Native American regions, including Jazz, America's national treasure.

Additionally, Andy has explored, created and conceived his own programming techniques in analog and digital music during the last 30 years of computer and electronic innovations, beginning with Apple's first Macintosh in 1987. Scroll down this page to access detailed information on his ELECTRONICA MUSIC TECHNOLOGY experience and equipment.

S5worldmusicAdditionalcopyofMainAndy's study and experience in the field of world musicology inspired his mission to create these participatory multi-cultural productions, They have been presented in performance, master classes, artist-in-residence and workshop venues at thousands of schools, festivals, colleges, museums, libraries and other public and private sites since 1979.

As of 2017, he continues to tour regularly and meet with acolades and positive audience feedback, spreading his message of global unity, social justice and healing through music with his original solo presentations “Making Music From Around the World”, “Instruments: Ancient to Future” and “Music: The Voice of Unity.” More details about Wasserman's work in the field of Arts-In-Education can be found at THIS LINK.

STUDENT FEEDBACK: "Mr. Wasserman - My time with you is one lesson that I will always remember. You came to our school to teach us about music, but you taught us so much more...THANKS !"


VIDEO GALLERY PLAYLIST WITH 12 MUSIC VIDEOS

loading videos
Loading Videos...

CLICK THIS LINK TO VIEW a four minute video essay documenting Andy Wasserman's 2016 Artist Residency Program MUSIC THE VOICE OF UNITY

presented in a New Jersey elementary school, presented through MORRIS ARTS


THE World Music Experience BACKSTORY

West African

WstAfricaAWsmallPapa Ladji Camara and sonAndy had the great good fortune to have Papa Ladji Camara as a mentor from 1998 - 2004. (photo on right is Andy and Ladji during a lesson.) Papa Ladji is a world renowned innovator from Norasoba, Guinea, West Africa and was the first master drummer of the original “Les Ballet Africain de Keita Fodeba." He is credited as being the very first jembe player to bring that instrument outside of the African continent to share with the rest of the globe. You can hear some of his music on the Lyricord label HERE, and read more about him at THIS LINK, as well as HERE, and at the African Music Encyclopedia

Working with Papa Ladji was the culmination of Wasserman's ethnomusicological studies that began in the early 1960's when Andy was a young boy starting his collection of musical instruments from Africa. In addition to his work with Papa Ladji, Andy studied at the Babatunde Olatunji School of African Dance and Music on 125th Street in Harlem, New York City during the early 1970's, and with David Locke at the New England Conservatory ethnomusicology studies faculty. He plays the jembe, sanghba, dun dun, balafon, mbira, talking drum and many other instruments from Guinea, Senegal, Mali, Nigeria and Ghana.

 

Japan and China

OrientalAWsmallAndy Wasserman began learning the Japanese koto in 1976 and the hotchiku bamboo flute in 1972 along with continual studies of Asian culture and traditional music. He has a sizable collection of Asian gongs and drums as well.

Andy has a special interest in the ancient forms of music as medicine from ancient China. He has spent decades as a student of Tai Chi Chuan along with the principles of Chinese traditional medicine and continues life-long research on the philosophy of Taoism and Zen meditation as taught by Alan Watts.

 

The Middle East

MidEastAWsmallAndy began studying the doumbek drums more than 20 years ago and is fluent in playing in odd meters. He brings his audiences a message of unity and tolerance as represented by music from many different countries in the Middle East including Turkey, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Jordan, etc.

Wasserman's Middle Eastern music is incorporated into his programs "Making Music From Around The World," "Instruments: Ancient to Future," and his 6-week artist residency series entitled "Music: The Voice of Unity."

 

Native American

NativeAmerAWsmallAndy Wasserman has been studying the societies and music of the First Americans since 1971 when he studied Native culture with Jack Preston of the Seneca Nation at the State University of New York at New Paltz. In 1976 he helped Oglala Lakota leader Selo Black Crow prepare accomodations for the Sun Dance on Selo's land by the Pine Ridge Reservation in Wanblee, South Dakota. It was there that Selo Black Crow and Lakota elders initiated Andy into their traditional sweat lodge purification ceremony.

Andy has traveled thoughout the United States in order to meet with, learn from, and assist many Native American nations. After 30 years of research that included Lakota, Dakota and Iroquios cultures, he released "Bead Songs" on CD in 2007. The entire CD project honors Andy's friend Yahhazie, a master beadwork artist and an enrolled member of the Shoshone Bannock Tribe of Fort Hall, Idaho. She created the beaded moccasins and other regalia pictured on the CD.

He plays authentic Native American flutes made by traditional First Peoples flute makers Charles Littleleaf and Russell Wolf, among others, and plays drums made by Grey Wolf Drums and Cheryl and Keith Little Badger of Earthshadow Drums.

 

Afro-Cuban and Latin Percussion

Cajon4awSiteWEBAndy Wasserman began studying Afro-Cuban and Latin music with renowned drummer Danny Barahanas in 1973, starting with the bongos. His collection of instruments also includes congas, timbales, cajon, bells, shekere, guiros, and assorted hand percussion.

He learned a lot about the authenticity of this rich cultural heritage from New York master Afro-Cuban percussionist and educator Bobby Sanabria while Andy was researching and producing content for his 1995 Beat of the Blue Planet CD-ROM, including the importance of clave, and how to apply it as the "glue that holds the rhythm together" using the American drum set.

 

South American

SouthAmerCollageCropsmallLatinCollageCropsmallAndy has spent many years learning about and sharing the musical folklore of Brazil, Peru and Argentina. He has a collection of ocarinas. bamboo flutes and a large assortment of authentic hand percussion instruments made from natural materials from Mother Nature.

On piano, Andy demonstrates the connections between the Brazilian bossa nova rhythmic style and Jazz.

 

Electronica (MUSIC TECHNOLOGY)

ElectronicMerge3web

Andy Wasserman's original, innovative arts-in-ed production entitled "Instruments: Ancient to Future" illuminates the connections between expressive acoustic performance techniques and electronic music soundscapes using state-of-the-art digital music technology.

As of 2016, Wasserman has 29 years experience as a sound designer, synthesizer programmer, digital sampling technician and live performance electronica artist. That section of his life's work began in 1987 when Andy co-founded "Sonic Architecture," a sampling sound library production service using the Akai S900 - the first popular digital sampler used on stage and in studios worldwide.

He went on to develop these musical ideas throughout the 1990's composing original music, performing, touring and teaching master classes throughout the US as an endorser of Emu Systems Digital Samplers with the electronica duo "Junglewire." Andy was also an early pioneer in CD-ROM interactive software, co-creating the innovative "Beat of the Blue Planet" computer program by Virtual Entertainment, a developer for Opcode Interactive. He has been creating audio, video, text and graphics content for the internet on a regular basis since 1991 through his studio production company TransMedia Sound & Music.

 Andy Wasserman Music The Voice Of Unity 2018 1 web

Andy Wasserman Music The Voice Of Unity 2018 2 web


A TRIBUTE TO THE SOURCE OF INSPIRATION

StevieFlowePower3webLike so many people of his generation, Andy was profoundly inspired by Stevie Wonder to become a multi-instrumentalist in both acoustic and electronic mediums.

Stevie set an example of a musician who can do it all - not only playing all the instruments and programming your own sounds, but creating your own studio, producing your own music and having total control of every aspect of the creative process. Wonder's pioneering work contributed in one way or another to almost every innovation in music technology that we enjoy today.

Wasserman began envisioning what would become the master plan for his expanded musical direction after absorbing Stevie's 1972 album "Talking Book." He also owes a tremendous debt of gratitude along with all of humanity to Wonder for his commitment to music as a force for positive mentalism and social justice.

On behalf of all musicians and non-musicians alike: "THANK YOU, STEVIE !!!"

 

LIVE PLANETARIUM ELECTRONICA CONCERTS

From 2011 through 2012, Andy performed 45 solo performances of his original electronica-worldbeat production entitled "COSMIC RESONANCE: A Concert Within Worlds Under The Stars." He simultaneously triggering dozens of electronic instruments in real time along with acoustic instruments from around the world to create a live, interactive soundtrack for astronomy shows accompanying the DigiStar HiDef sky presentations at the Longo Planetarium in New Jersey. (Click HERE to view concert poster.)

 Andy Wasserman StudioPortrait2013WEB

MUSIC TECHNOLOGY CATEGORIES Andy uses in his interactive concerts, workshops and residencies on stage, in studio production and for education

(for more detailed information, please CONTACT ANDY WASSERMAN for extensive list of all equipment and electronic instruments)

KEYBOARDS, DIGITAL PIANOS and SYNTHESIZERS

ELECTRONIC DRUMS

ALTERNATE MIDI and USB CONTROLLERS

SOUND MODULES

COMPUTER and ELECTRONICA PERFORMANCE GEAR

ELECTRIC GUITARS

VOICE TRANSFORMERS

RECORDING, SOUND and DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY FOR STUDIO AND STAGE PERFORMANCES


Line6InterviewAndyWassermanScreenShotSMLwebCHECK OUT A 2013 INTERVIEW WITH ANDY WASSERMAN:

"Line 6 Dream Stage Streamlines Setup and Maximizes Sound Quality for Musician and Educator Andy Wasserman" 

Click screen shot [image on right] to read article linked to Line 6 official website

 


ACOUSTIC DRUM KITS

BeadKitSideViewWEB

Andy Wasserman's showcase "BEAD SONGS" custom drum kit (photo on left)

~ core kit: 5-piece maple shell drum kit, handmade in USA by Phattie Drums

~ drum exterior finish: wrap production by Bum Wrap Drum Company

~ drum mat: Custom designed Pad-Zilla™ to match drum kit by DrumMats.com

~ bass drum microphone: TPSONE1 custom wrapped 40 ounce floating subkick mic

This drum kit is a respectful tribute intended to honor the traditional Shoshone-Bannock bead work of tribal member Yahhazie. She created the Native American design on moccasins she made for Andy in 2006 (click THIS LINK to view) of which a two-inch square section was cropped to produce the tile artwork pattern on drums and mat.

additional drum kits

 

Jazz
 

AndyWassermanElecPianoDayWEBCloseUpInSwingErrollGarnerAlbumCoverWEBWasserman presents Jazz as a key component in his arts-in-education programs through it's contribution to the world as one of America's few truly original, indigenous art forms, along with the music of the Native Americans.

Andy began improvising when he was 6 years old. He was given Erroll Garner's "CLOSEUP IN SWING" album for his ninth bithday and knew upon first listening that this is what he was put on earth to do.

His decades of study under the mentorship of Jazz master pianist Dwike Mitchell and Jazz innovator George Russell helped him realize his aim. Wasserman has been recognized throughout his dedicated career as one of the more musical and inspired solo pianists of his generation.

More info on Andy's Jazz artistry can be found HERE.

 MAY 1, 2017 - UPDATED NEWS: a recent in-depth interview with Andy Wasserman on his life's work in music appears in JAZZ MONTHLY Magazine. View the interview and link on the home page of Jazz Monthly at this URL: JAZZMONTHLY.COM or go directly to the full article at this page: JAZZMONTHLY.COM/ANDY-WASSERMAN
 
You can hear all of the styles and genres listed here on the WORLD MUSIC EXPERIENCE page by clicking this link: THE LISTEN PAGE

A FEW SCRAPBOOK PHOTOS:  past to present
 
AndyWassermanJHSyearbookWEB
 
Andy Wasserman young man with mentor Anne Prior Dodge WEBAndy as a young man with mentor Anne Prior Dodge, Metropolitan Music School, Manhattan, New York City
 
AWplaysBALA600web
AWstudentsBALAmallets600web
GroupAWBala600web
Jamming with young audiences at a school in April, 2017:
Andy gives a workshop in the Balafon from Mali, West Africa in his program "Beat of the Blue Planet."
 
Musical Artist Andy Wasserman World Music Day web
World Music Artist Andy Wasserman performing at World Music Day 2018 celebration in outdoor festival with his program "Music: The Voice of Unity"

divider 3